Review: 144. Biting Bad by Chloe Neill…

I couldn’t wait for Biting Bad, Chloe Neill is excellent at leaving us waiting (and waiting!) for the next book in the series as soon as we finish one…

biting baddrey’s thoughts:

Oh Merit. Just when things are going well on the lovey-dovey front (finally, huh?), politics and hate intrude. Why oh why can’t the world just leave you guys alone? What does a girl vampire have to do to get the GP off Cadogan House’s back? Haven’t they already caused enough damage?

Apparently not, because there’s more to come. I so hate politics, ugh! And that’s not the only thing that goes up in flames in Biting Bad. There’s a big fire, lots of refugees, and more fights than you can shake a chicken at. Don’t ask where that came from, it just came out and it sounded good. I think.

Biting Bad gives us our favorite characters, forward movement on our favorite romance, more political wrangling, and blow-‘em-up action, along with Neill’s snarky dialog and mention of Chicago eats. There’s plenty to enjoy between the covers for fans of Merit and Ethan. And there’s plenty to enjoy for those who like a bit of think in their paranormal romances.

I loved Biting Bad for all the stuff in it. But I also have to nit-pick something: A lot happens in Biting Bad, but we’re no further at the end of the day than we were at the beginning, except for the growth of Merit and Ethan’s relationship – which you’ll be fine with if you love only the romance part of the series, and us learning more about the character of one of the other House Masters. But I want MORE! I want to know why the GP is such a pain, and seriously, are they conspiring with the Mayor to cause problems for Cadogan House? I want to know what the prophecy says (no, I’m not telling you what prophecy). I want answers to questions that pop up with new revelations. I want Merit to win her fights instead of getting beat up like crazy. I also want her to check out Chinatown and get dim-sum off the rolling carts without knowing what she’s ordering. I want, I want, I want. ;) And I’m anxiously waiting for the next installment to see if I get any of it then… Anyone have a time machine they can share?

drey’s rating: Pick it up!

Title: Biting Bad (Chicagoland Vampires #8)
Author: Chloe Neill
ISBN-13: 9780451415189
eBook: 273 pages
Publisher: Penguin, 2013
Purchase at IndieBound, Amazon, The Book Depository
Source: Purchased

Have you read Biting Bad? What did you think?

About drey

I read. A lot. And then I share my thoughts with you. Sometimes I even invite authors to visit and say a thing or two...

, , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply