Review: Midnight Crossroad by Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris has a new series! Midnight Crossroad has been out for a year and is newly released in paperback, and its sequel Day Shift is coming out in a week!

Review: Midnight Crossroad by Charlaine HarrisMidnight Crossroad by Charlaine Harris
Series: Midnight, Texas #1
Published by Penguin Books on March 31st 2015
ISBN: 9780425263167
Genres: Mystery, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 349
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Goodreads

Welcome to Midnight, Texas, a town with many boarded-up windows and few full-time inhabitants, located at the crossing of Witch Light Road and Davy Road. It’s a pretty standard dried-up western town.

There’s a pawnshop (someone lives in the basement and is seen only at night). There’s a diner (people who are just passing through tend not to linger). And there’s new resident Manfred Bernardo, who thinks he’s found the perfect place to work in private (and who has secrets of his own).

Purchase at IndieBound | Amazon | The Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

Disclosure: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

[divider]

drey’s thoughts:

Charlaine Harris’ new Midnight, Texas trilogy features someone we’ve met before – Manfred Bernardo, who along with his TV-psychic-personality grandmother Xylda made several appearances in Harris’ Harper Connelly series.

The Plot: Guy moves to a small town, meets the few local inhabitants, then goes on a picnic with them, where one stumbles across the body of a gone-for-months girlfriend of one of the locals. Add in goons from a militia group looking for a super cache of weapons, and you have not one, but TWO mysteries in this entertaining read. That’s enough to keep anyone busy, even in a smaller-than-small town!

The Characters: If you’ve read Harris’ Harper Connelly series, you’ve met Manfred. He’s a little quirky, a lot curious, and never expected Midnight to hold so many secrets. His landlord Bobo owns and runs a pawn shop. His neighbor across the street is a witch named Fiji. The owner of the gas station is a recluse who keeps a very strict eye on his teenage son and daughter. The preacher gives “recluse” a whole new meaning. The salon is run by a gay couple who seem normal compared to everyone else. All in all, Midnight’s residents are an eclectic lot, and so much fun to get to know.

The Story: Midnight Crossroad is entertaining storytelling, with interesting characters, buried secrets, decomposed bodies, and unrequited love. There’s an element of the paranormal, but this series is closer to the Harper Connelly series than the Sookie Stackhouse in that it’s more about the people and the mysteries, and not so much the romance.

Fans of Harris’ Aurora Teagarden, Lily Bard, and Harper Connelly series will enjoy Midnight Crossroad (even if we get a hero instead of a heroine). 😉

drey’s rating: Excellent!

Have you read Midnight Crossroad? What did you think?

About Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse fantasy/mystery series; the Aurora Teagarden, Harper Connelly, and Lily Bard mystery series; and Midnight Crossroad, the first Midnight, Texas, novel. She has lived in the South her entire life.

4 comments

  1. I didn’t love her Sookie Stackhouse books because of the supernatural element. It sounds like this series doesn’t have that so I might give it a try.

    1. Compared to the rest of Harris’ books, Sookie Stackhouse was chock-full of the supernatural. Aurora Teagarden and Lily Bard were straight-up mysteries (if I remember correctly, I started with them and it’s been a loooong time… This one does have a little of the paranormal (Manfred’s a psychic), but it’s not the focus of the story.

  2. I admit I kind of petered out on Sookie, never read the last couple. And I just noticed some sort of tv movie, on Hallmark of all things, for an Aurora Teagarden story. And DJ’s in it! I have yet to read that series of Harris’ yet! Lots of catching up to do!

Comments are closed.